Menu
Clarendon Win Best Independent Services Apartment Operator London 2017

Best Independent Serviced Apartment Operator London 2017

What our guests are saying

Fri 23rd Jun 2017
The apartment is very modern and well maintained. I had no problem during the two months that I used the apartment.
Thu 11th May 2017
My apartment was great quality: modern, spacious, clean, and in a great location. The management was available to resolve any issues.
Thu 11th May 2017
Overall services were very good including the customer service over the phone, housekeeping and maintenance. However, for a part of my time, they had some construction, repair work going on and the state of the elevators during this time was poor. I think that was a one-off situation but I would highly recommend this place. Great location and great service overall!
Thu 11th May 2017
The cleaning service i received was not particularly good. There were black hairs in the sink and tub (I have blonde hair). The bed sheets were not of a particularly good quality, and there was no top sheet. however, the layout of the apartment was good and it received good natural light.
Mon 13th Mar 2017
Poor location, broken central heating.
Dear Nikhil,
I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your recent stay with us. We do perform pre arrival checks before any of our guests check in and we're usually able to identify and resolve any issues. Despite our best efforts to be proactive, some of our systems do not perform the way we would like and there are occasionally issues during a guest's stay.
As soon as we became aware of you experiencing a heating issue, we attended your apartment, made an assessment of any repair required and supplied you with electric portable heaters. I understand from checking with my operations team that we were able to identify and repair the fault with the heating within the same week.
The location is very central and well positioned for access to Blackfriars and surrounding businesses. It's obviously a busy area of London but we find it's well liked and favoured by our corporate clients who require easy access to their offices. We will note your comments re location with your booking team and keep it in mind for future.
Again, apologies for the difficulty you experienced with the heating and I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again.
Best wishes, Joanna Cross Client and Guest Services Director
Tue 7th Mar 2017
It was a really nice apartment but one issue is that the instructions on where to take out the rubbish and recycle in the manual are completely wrong. There was nowhere to recycle that I could enter in the whole building.
Mon 6th Mar 2017
Having my apartment cleaned every week, and being provided with clean bed linens and bath towels was absolute heaven!!!
Fri 18th Nov 2016
Very noisey. Bedroom window not closing properly. Other residents banging main door trying to gain access at 0400. Couldn't gain access to main door myself when new keypad was fitted.
Wed 2nd Nov 2016
Noisy due to the construction site nearby, I have been staying the same flat on 4/F or 5/F for my last 3 visits, a bit disappointing not being allocated to another one as I requested, regardless of my frequent visits. I travel to London very regularly...
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at Discovery Dock East. We do realize that the nearby construction is inconvenient.

I have passed your comment to our Reservations Team so that they know for your next visit not to allocate you an apartment on that side of the building.

Regards

The Clarendon Team
Wed 2nd Nov 2016
Service was extremely prompt
Thank you for you great review of your stay at Burleigh Mansions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

The Clarendon Team
Wed 28th Sep 2016
excellent service, clean apartments, beautiful location.
Thanks so much for your great review of your stay with us at Wraysbury Hall.

Come back and stay again soon.

Regards

The Clarendon Team
Mon 19th Sep 2016
Other than a problem with the front door lock on entry (the electronic lock wasn't unlocking properly), it was a great experience.
Tue 26th Jul 2016
Clarendon is always striving to improve it's service and is keen to hear what you have to say about your recent experience, positive or negative to help make improvements and show potential customers how they perform. All your responses will be made available publicly on the Feefo website. We do not publish your name, so only Clarendon will know who you are
Mon 25th Jul 2016
Great, painless - no inventory checklists - well-furnished apartments with fully equipped kitchen. Efficient changing of lightbulbs / resolving of queries. Great work!
Mon 25th Jul 2016
Superb apartment in Hammersmith. We appreciated the pleasant customer service we received and how easy booking in was.
Mon 25th Jul 2016
The apartment we stayed was really smart living if your traveling in small groups or extended families.
Fri 22nd Jul 2016
Fabulous apartment, enjoyed our stay, so handy to all the amenities such as tube station, restaurants, two couples in a two bedroom apartment, which worked out really well.
Tue 5th Jul 2016
I am a regular visitor of London and all the time I use Clarendon for my accommodation needs - regardless of my events' locations. Thank you once again. Thank you Diana for answering all my questions.
Tue 5th Jul 2016
We stayed here for a couple of weeks and found these apartments very nice. Very hand for the tube and for getting in and out of central London.
Tue 5th Jul 2016
We were recommended these apartments by a friend. The apartment itself is everything you need and expect. The things we really liked about it was the location and the price. Thank you.
Mon 4th Jul 2016
Clean and plenty of space. Had everything we needed. Location was close to tube and train station.
Mon 4th Jul 2016
The apartment was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for more... well, maybe better cable tv, but other than that it was amazing. I loved having a full kitchen, dishwasher, and washer/dryer.
Mon 4th Jul 2016
I think someone needs to explain from the industry why other apartments providers don't excel as Clarendon, and why are they still in business.
Sun 3rd Jul 2016
Great apartment, Great value for money, Meet and greet was quick and efficient. Apartment spacious and clean. Couldn't be more satisfied by the reservation/maintenance people. Staff knowledgeable and friendly. Great value for money and highly recommended. Thanks for a great stay.
Sun 3rd Jul 2016
The manager from clarendon was very professional and helpful when doing the first viewing. He sent someone to meet us at the station. He personally came to resolve an issue with water. He assisted us in contacting a theater and a taxi. He relayed our feedback to the cleaner quickly.
Sun 3rd Jul 2016
I spent 3 months with Clarendon for work. The first impression of the location was good, but within few minutes we have realized that the place is GREAT. Fantastic location for exploring London with children too.
Sun 3rd Jul 2016
Good location and price. Suited out needs as a group of two couples travelling to London for a period of 2 months.
Sun 3rd Jul 2016
The apartment has good equipment eg. iron, hairdryer, washing mashine, internet access - it has everything is needed to live there in comfortable way:) We're very happy to stay here and look further to come back!!!:)))))
Sun 3rd Jul 2016
Well situated apartment with all the facilities you need for a self catering stay, including washing machine+ dryer and fully equipped kitchen.The Clarendon team was very helpful and fast to help us check into the apartment.
Fri 1st Jul 2016
Found in a lovely neighbourhood, the apartment has comfortable beds, a well-equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer, and was cleaned weekly by efficient housekeepers....very ideal for families-

Quick Enquiry

Share with us any information that might help us with your request
+44 (0) 1784 489 200  |  enquiries@clarendonuk.com  |  Frequently Asked Questions

Please check your entries - from is a required field, to is a required field, from date must be in the future and to date must be after the from date
Approximately when would like to stay?
Number of rooms required
Studio 1 Bed 2 Bed 3 Bed
Email Phone
 

Quick Enquiry

Share with us any information that might help us with your request
+44 (0) 1784 489 200  |  enquiries@clarendonuk.com  |  Frequently Asked Questions

Please check your entries - from is a required field, to is a required field, from date must be in the future and to date must be after the from date
Approximately when would like to stay?
Number of rooms required
Studio 1 Bed 2 Bed 3 Bed
Email
Phone
 

Members of

CHPA ITM ARP Eura